Working with Projects in StratNav
Updated 4 min read
Learn how to manage StratNav projects: create, switch, share and delete strategy workspaces, with tools that work across projects.
Contents
Contents · 6 sections
The project concept
StratNav divides your work into projects.
- Usually, each project represents one strategy, and each project has its own Strategy Board.
- You may only ever need one project.
Reasons for creating a new project:
- If you're a larger organisation, you might have different projects for the strategies of each of your operating divisions.
- If you're a consultant, you might have one project for each of your clients' strategies.
- You may simply start a new project to explore a particular idea you have.
It's up to you. The important thing to remember is that each of the projects is independent of the others. And you can share each project with different members of your team.
Projects keep separate strategies, people and information organised without mixing client or business-unit work.
How to create a new project
- Sign in to StratNav.
- Click on "Projects" on the main menu.
- Click on "Create a New Project" on the drop-down menu which opens up.
- Follow the prompts in the project setup wizard.
Note: When you first signed up to StratNav, your first project will have been created for you.
How to share a project
You can share a project with other people you want to collaborate with. You will find full instructions for sharing projects and collaborating with other users at Strategy is a collaborative exercise.
How to switch between projects
You can easily switch between and view different projects you've created or that have been shared with you:
- Sign in to StratNav
- Click on Projects on the main menu.
- The drop-down menu will show
- the last (up to five) projects you've accessed. You can click on any one of those.
- All projects. You can click on All projects to see a list of all of your projects and select any one of them.
Note: Whenever you select a new project, you will be taken to the Strategy Board for that project.
Tools that work across projects
Whilst projects are generally independent of each other, there are a number of features which operate across projects.
- The Recent Updates page will show you all your updates across all your projects.
- You can search with your current project only, or across all of your projects.
- The Personal Calendar will show you all of the meetings where you're marked as an attendee across all your projects.
- The Personal Actions list will show you all of the actions where you're marked as a stakeholder across all your projects.
- You can create hyperlinks between projects. From any page on any project, you can select "Copy page link to clipboard". Then in any formatted entry box in any project, you can paste that link back to the original page.
How to delete a project
To delete a project:
- Sign in to StratNav.
- Select the project you want to delete (see instructions above).
- Click the name of the project on the main menu (it will be the second item on the main menu).
- Click Project Details on the resulting drop-down menu.
- You will find the delete button (a small trashcan icon) toward the bottom of the screen.
Notes:
- Deleting projects with multiple users:
- Deleting a project removes your access to it.
- If another user has access to the project (see How to share a project, above), they will continue to have access to it until they also delete it.
- The project is only permanently deleted when no active users still have access.
- When you delete your access to a project, you cannot undo this action. However, another user who still has access to that project can invite you to join it again.
- Once a project has no more active users with access to it, the system will delete the project and its data. Once this happens, it cannot be recovered.
- Every account must have at least one project. You cannot delete the last and only project on an account. If you want to delete it, you must first create a new one, the switch back to and delete the old one.