Read-only pages

If two people1 try and update the same information at the same time it can lead to clashes and some updates being lost. To prevent this, StratNavApp.com may "lock" one of the pages in "read-only" mode.

When this happens, you will see a short note at the top of the page, together with the name or email address of the person who currently has the page open in editing mode.

In read-only mode, you can still add Notes, but won't be able to edit the main page content.

Where this happens, the best thing to do is to wait for the other person to leave the page, before refreshing or returning to the page. In most browsers, you can press F5 to refresh the page.

Sometimes, it is possible for someone to leave a page without it being marked as closed. In this case, it can be "frozen" in read-only mode. Where this happens, it is possible to force the page into edit mode by selecting "Force unlock" on the hamburger menu ( Hamburger Menu ) at the top left-hand corner of the screen. When doing so:

  • Remember that if the other person is still editing this page, that this may still result in clashes and some updates being lost.
  • StratNavApp.com will try and alert the other person to this fact and force them into read-only mode, but this only works in modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome and Firefox.

Notes:

  1. It's not always another person, though. The same thing will happen if you have the same page open on a different device or in a different browser or browser tab.

If any part of this text is not clear to you, please contact our support team for assistance.

Index